Contact us

Contact us

Medical School Building (Old Medical School) room 4806-see map and directions below or use the University of Virginia interactive map (search for Medical School Bldg)

Phone number 434.924.2524


Dr. Yalin Wang managed the electron microscopy facility at the  Janelia Farm Research Campus of Howard Hughes Medical Institute before becoming director of the Advanced Microscopy Facility. He also has extensive experience in light microscopy.

Jan Redick, former Laboratory Director, retired on June 30th, 2013.

Yalin Wang, Ph.D.

Stacey Guillot, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor




Presentation of  2012 Outstanding Core Award by Jay Fox, Associate Dean for Research Infrastructure. The core also received this award in 2004.
AMF outstanding core award


The Advanced Microscopy Facility, started in 1979, is supported by the University of Virginia School of Medicine and by a National Cancer Institute Cancer Center Support Grant to the University of Virginia. Typically 72 investigators from 44 different departments/divisions use the facility each year.


  • Take the link to the West Complex from Jordan Hall (on level 2) or Hospital (on level 1).
  • Turn right to enter the lobby of the West Complex and head to the right of the information desk.
  • Pass West Elevators A and turn right as though heading to the Corner or Eye Clinic.
  • Pass through 2 open doorways and after about 50 yards look for Old Medical School Elevator #3 on your left ,  (you must enter the Old Medical School on level 1 or 2) or stairs on right just past the elevator; the Medical School auditorium is past both elevator and stairs.
  • Go to 4th floor.  On exiting the elevator, you will see a sign pointing to Advanced Microscopy Facility (veer right). From stairs, turn left, and left again at the end of the corridor. Room 4806 is a third of the way down the corridor.
Advanced Microscopy Facility map

Oversight Committee

Jeffrey T. Corwin, Faculty Science Director and Chair
Department of Neuroscience

Ann L. Beyer
Department of Microbiology

Steven H. Caldwell
Department of Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Adrian J Halme
Department of Cell Biology

Brant E. Isakson
Department of Molecular Physiology and Biological Physics

Jung-Bum Shin
Department of Neuroscience

P. Todd Stukenburg
Department of Biochemistry