Distinguished Alumni

Distinguished Alumni

Major accomplishments of the program include:

Over the 29 years of the program, 2,978 have participated, of whom 583 have already obtained their M.D. degrees.  Twenty-six of the program alumni are medical school faculty members, including a former chairman of Ophthalmology, one associate dean, one assistant dean, and two associate directors for residency programs.

Two of the program alumni are UVA School of Medicine faculty members and a third is on the UVA School of Nursing faculty.



Michael D. Williams, MD, FACS

UVA SMDEP Principal Investigator and Director

Associate Professor of Surgery
Director of Emergency General Surgery
Medical Director of The Transfer Center
UVA Health System and School of Medicine




Ursulla Courtney, M.D., UVA ' 97

('91 program participant)
Associate Professor Department of Family Medicine
University of Virginia School of Medcine



D. Kojo Hamilton MD, FAANS

University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)

Associate Professor of Neurological Surgery

Residency Program Director - UPMC Mercy Hospital

Department of Neurological Surgery


Jacqueline Barrientos, MD

Assistant Professor of Medicine
CLL Research & Treatment Center
Hofstra North Shore LIJ School of Medicine


Renata Arrington Sanders, MD, MPH, ScM

Assistant Professor
Division of General Pediatrics & Adolescent Medicine
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine


Keith Warren, M.D. UVA '88

('84 program participant)
Chair and Associate Professor of Opthalmology,
University of Kansas School of Medicine


LTC Michael Nelson, M.D., Ph.D., UVA '93

('85 program participant)
Assistant Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics,
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences School of Medicine;
Chief, Clinical Laboratory Immunology Research Secton,
U.S. Army; Chief, U.S. Centralized Allergen Extract Lab;
Chief, Allergy and Immunology Clinic, Walter Reed Army Medical Hospital


Eminent physicians and biomedical researchers who have served as "Distinguished Program Speakers" include:

  • Sir John Kendrew (Nobel Laureate)
  • Dr. Jerome Karle (Nobel Laureate)
  • Dr. William Lipscomb (Nobel Laureate)
  • Dr. David Satcher ( former Surgeon-General)
  • Dr. Steven Schroeder (former President, The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation)
  • Dr. Robert Petersdorf (President Emeritus, Association of American Medical Colleges)
  • Dr. Jordan Cohen (former President, Association of American Medical Colleges)
  • Dr. Vivian Pinn (Director, NIH Office for Research on Women's Health)
  • Dr. Roscoe Moore (Assistant Surgeon General and Associate Director for Development Support and African Affairs)
  • Dr. Thomas Hunter (former Dean, University of Virginia School of Medicine)
  • Dr. Robert Carey (Dean Emeritus, University of Virginia School of Medicine)
  • Dr. Donald Wilson (Dean Emeritus, University of Maryland School of Medicine)
  • Dr. Haile Debas (former Dean, University of California San Francisco)
  • Dr. Arthur Garson (then, Dean University of Virginia School of Medicine)
  • Dr. James Gavin (former President, Morehouse School of Medicine)