Minutes 031110

Minutes 031110

University of Virginia School of  Medicine
Curriculum Committee

Pediatric Conference Room, 4:00 p.m.

Present (underlined) were: Gretchen ArnoldRobert Bloodgood, Megan Bray, Donna Chen, Eugene Corbett, Thomas Gampper, Wendy Golden, Donald Innes (Chair), Keith Littlewood, Veronica Michaelsen, Mohan Nadkarni, Chris Peterson, Jerry Short, Linda Waggoner-Fountain, Bill Wilson,  Mary Kate Worden,  Lisa Herrmann, Evan Lapinsky, Brad Bradenham,  Debra Reed (secretary)  

  1. Announcements.

    E-mails have been received from both Dean Steven DeKosky and Associate Dean Randy Canterbury expressing gratitude for the Committee's participation at the recent SAC review. The SACS MD program review ended Wednesday, 3/10/10 with a report to the Dean and the Vice-Provost. A final written report will be sent at a later date but the verbal summary was extremely complimentary of the School of Medicine--our students, our faculty, our staff, the planned curriculum changes, our processes, the new building and of our leadership. Feedback on any opportunities for improvement that they saw was solicited, and will be provided

    Equal Opportunity Directive. Early in the Administration, the Governor authorized the issuance of an Equal Opportunity in the Workplace Directive to employees of the Office of the Governor that reflects his strong position that employment discrimination for any reason other than merit and ability has no place in state government.

    Teaching Electives in the Next Generation Curriculum. Meg Keeley will meet with the Committee on 4/8/10 to discuss the elective program in general and the teaching electives in particular.

    Nomination for Human Behavior thread leader. Dr. Suzanne Holroyd has nominated Nassima Ait-Doud to replace Bill Hobbs in this position. A CV has been requested and will be presented to the Committee as soon as it arrives.

  2. Nomination of Medicine Clerkship Director. Gerald Donowitz, Vice Chair for Education in the Department of Medicine has nominated Dr. Brian Wispelwey to be the new Clinical Clerkship Director for the Department of Medicine. The Committee discussed the proposal and approved the nomination unanimously. The Committee will outline expectations for this position, including required time commitments to the Department of Medicine. Chair letters written by the Clerkship Director are not included in the 25% time commitment reimbursed by the School of Medicine. The Committee will also contact the previous director to seek advice on providing support to this clerkship.

    The Committee also recommends any major change to a clerkship, i.e., new Director or reorganization, initiate a formal clerkship review after one year.

    The Committee will work toward establishing clear guidelines for Departments to help in the appointment process. The Committee will review current GME policies and practices in developing these guidelines.

  3. Integrated Assessment of students in the Next Generation Curriculum. One of the comments by the SACs reviewers concerned integration of the disciplines in the Next Generation exam questions. The Committee notes that while complete integration in each question will be difficult and very time consuming, a goal of 10-20% integrated questions in the first year should be achievable. After much discussion, it was agreed that no formal goal would be set this first year of the curriculum but rather exam questions would be reviewed for content at the end of the year and a goal set at that point. The goal could be increased in subsequent years. The Committee also discussed the integration of questions regarding multiple systems and this will be reviewed as well

  4. Remediation in the Next Generation Curriculum. Dr. David Geldmacher, Chair of the Academic Standards and Advancement Committee, will be organizing a meeting to work on how best to remediate student deficiencies in the Next Generation Curriculum.

Donald J. Innes, Jr., M.D.