GME Committee

GME Committee


The Graduate Medical Education (GME) Committee oversees the education, research and patient care practices of residents and fellows throughout the Medical Center. The Committee ensures that each residency and fellowship program provides quality educational experiences and meets the requirements set forth in the ACGME Special Requirements for each accredited program and also non-ACGME programs. Further, the Committee monitors and coordinates issues applicable or common to all programs, such as those raised by external accreditation agencies (AMA, AAMA, ACGME, NRMP). The GME Committee reports directly to the Clinical Staff Executive Committee. The Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education serves as Chair.


Voting membership includes: The Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education as the Chair, Program Directors from many of the core specialties, subspecialties and chaplaincy, representation from the medical center’s quality committee, Housestaff Council Co-Presidents, plus two additional housestaff delegates, and Chair of the Coordinators’ Council.

Current Chair and Members are:

Susan E. Kirk, M.D., Chair Associate Professor of Medicine and Obstetrics and Gynecology
Department of Medicine
Division of Endocrinology & Metabolism
Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education
Chair, GME Committee
Bradley W. Kesser, M.D.

Associate Professor of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
Department of Otolaryngology-HNS
Associate Director, Otolaryngology-HNS Residency Program
Vice Chair, GME Committee

Tracey Hoke, M.D.

Professor of Pediatric Cardiology
Chief Patient Safety and Quality Officer

Jeffrey S. Young, M.D.

Professor of Surgery and Public Health Sciences
Department of Surgery
Division of General Surgery
Director, Trauma Center
Co-Director, Surgical Critical Care
Chief Patient Safety and Quality Officer

Donna Chen, M.D. Medical Student Advisory Committee Co-chair
Lesley Thomas, M.D. Medical Student Advisory Committee Co-chair

Zachariah C. Dameron III, M.D.

Associate Professor of Psychiatric Medicine
Department of Psychiatry and Neurobehavioral Sciences
Division of Outpatient Psychiatry
Director, Psychiatry Residency Program

Gerald R. Donowitz, M.D.

Professor of Medicine
Department of Medicine
Division of Infectious Diseases
Director, Internal Medicine Residency Program
Vice Chair for Education

Andy Southerland, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology
Department of Neurology
Division of General Neurology
Director, Neurology Residency Program and Clinical Neurophysiology Fellowship Program

Saher Sabri, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Radiology
Department of Radiology
Vice President of Education
Director, Radiology Residency Program

John D. Gazewood, M.D., MSPH

Associate Professor of Family Medicine
Department of Family Medicine
Division of General Family Medicine
Director, Family Medicine Residency Program

Mildred Best, M. Div., M.S.S.

Department of Chaplaincy Services and Pastoral Education

Brian C. Hoard, DDS

Associate Professor of Clinical Dentistry
Department of Dentistry
Director, General Dental Practice Residency Program

Noah S. Schenkman, M.D.

Associate Professor of Urology
Department of Urology
Division of General Urology
Director, Urology Residency Program

Jeffrey G. Jenkins, M.D.

Associate Professor of Clinical Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Division of Sports and Spine Care
Director, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Residency Program

Rashard Dacus, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Orthopaedics
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Division of Hand and Upper Extremity Disorders
Director, Orthopaedic Surgery Residency Program

Edward C. Nemergut, M.D.

Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Neurological Surgery
Department of Anesthesiology
Director, Anesthesiology Residency Program

Thomas G. Cropley, M.D

Professor of Dermatology
Department of Dermatology
Director, Dermatology Residency Training Program

John Dent, M.D. Professor, Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship

Bruce D. Schirmer, M.D.

Professor of Surgery
Department of Surgery
Division of General Surgery
Director, Surgery Residency Program

Debra Perina, M.D. Professor, Emergency Medical Services

Linda A. Waggoner-Fountain, M.D.

Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Department of Pediatrics
Division of Infectious Diseases: Pediatric
Division of General Pediatrics
Director, Pediatric Residency Program

William A. Woods, M.D.

Associate Professor in Emergency Medicine and Pediatrics
Department of Emergency Medicine
Division of General Emergency Medicine
Director, Emergency Medicine Residency Program

John A. Jane Jr., M.D. Ph.D. Professor of Neurological Surgery
Leigh Cantrell, M.D. Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Sandra Johnson, M.D. Professor of Ophthalmology
Kristen Atkins, M.D. Professor of Pathology
George McDaniel, M.D. Professor of Pediatric Cardiology
Thomas Gampper, M.D. Professor of Plastic Surgery
Roger C. Burket, M.D. Professor of Psychiatry
Ziv Haskal, M.D. Professor of Interventional Radiology
Tim Showalter, M.D. Professor of Radiation Oncology
Kenneth Cherry, M.D. Professor of Vascular Surgery
Irving Kron, M.D. Professor of Thoracic Surgery
Terry Bennett Program Coordinators Council Chair
Karen Heuer Program Coordinators Council Vice Chair
Graduate Medical Trainees
Eric Charles, M.D. Resident, Surgery
Kevin Dabrowski, M.D. Resident, Emergency Medicine
Program Coordinators

Christopher Williams

Residency Program Coordinator
Department of Medicine
Chair, Coordinators’ Council

Graduate Medical Education Office
Sarah Oh Education Specialist, Graduate Medical Education
Diane Farineau Director of Graduate Medical Education