Humanism in Medicine Awards

Humanism in Medicine Awards

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Awards

Every year the Univeristy of Virginia School of Medicine presents individual awards celebrating the humanistic practice of medicine by one faculty physician and one graduating student. The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Awards each carry a $1,000 cash prize generously provided by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation. The award selection process is administered by the Center for Humanism in Medicine.

University of Virginia Tow Award Recipients

Bryan Wispelwey, M.D. (Infectious Disease) • Anne D. Bowman (class of 2011)
Rebecca A. Dillingham, M.D. (Global Health) • Jessica Bobula Foster (class of 2010)


Scott A. Syverud, M.D. (Emergency Medicine • Jason Franasiak (class of 2009)
Charles M. Friel, M.D. (Surgery) • Matthew Semler (class of 2008)
Gabrielle Marzani-Nissen, M.D. (Psychiatry) • Lealani Mae Yanez Acosta (class of 2007)
James D. Bergin, M.D. (Cardiovascular Medicine) • Anthony Thomas DeBenedet (class of 2006)
Eugene (Chip) Foley, M.D. (Surgery) • Paul Michael McIntosh (class of 2005)
Mark J. Mendelsohn, M.D. (Pediatrics) • Joseph Augustus Jackson, Jr. (class of 2004)
Susan Miesfeldt, M.D. (Hematology and Oncology) • Nina Wister Ross and Ben Schalet (class of 2003)
Munsey S. Wheby, M.D. (Hematology and Oncology) • Carol Anne Boersma (class of 2002)
Christine M. Peterson, M.D. (Obstetrics and Gynecology, Student Health) • Toby C. Campbell (class of 2001)

Residents' Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Awards

The School of Medicine each year also presents up to six residents with Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Awards. These awards, funded by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, recognize physicians in training who are especially competent, compassionate, kind, responsible and concerned for the welfare of patients, colleagues, staff and students; are extraordinary teachers and role models; are self-reflective about their own ongoing formation as physicians; and demonstrate integrity and professionalism in all they do. Award winners become members of the Gold Humanism Honor Society. The awards are presented at the annual Becoming a Clinician ceremony for the rising third-year class. The Center for Humanism in Medicine administers these awards.


Shannon Brim, M.D. (Obstetrics and Gynecology) • Megan Clarke, J.D., M.D. (Surgery) •  R. Ramesh Singh, MB BCh (Surgery) • Andrew Southerland, M.D. (Neurology) • Samuel A. Taylor, M.D. (Neurology)

Tae W. Chong, M.D. (Surgery) • Brian Hanrahan, M.D. (Internal Medicine) • Jennifer Kirby, M.D. (Internal Medicine) • Melissa Phillips, M.D. (Surgery) • R. Ramesh Singh, M.D. (Surgery)

Joshua Adams, M.D. (Surgery) • Mark Cummings, M.D. (Pediatrics)
Juliana Lockman, M.D. (Neurology) • Brendon Stiles, M.D. (Surgery)
Steven Taylor, M.D. (Internal Medicine) • Crista Warniment, M.D. (Family Medicine)

Andrew Darby, M.D. (Internal Medicine) • Leo Gazoni, M.D. (Surgery) • Philip Smith, M.D. (Surgery)