John A. Jane Sr. MD

John A. Jane Sr. MD

John A. Jane, M.D.,Ph.D.,FRCS (C)

Professor of Neurological Surgery

M.D. Degree: University of Chicago, 1956

Residency: Neurosurgery, University of Chicago Clinics
Royal Victoria Hospital-McGill University, Montreal
Neurological Institute, Illinois Neuropsychiatric Institute

Fellowship: Neurophysiology, Montreal Neurological Institute
Neuropathology, Montreal Neurological Institute
Cerebral Vascular Research, Atkinson Morleys Hospital, London, England

Certification: Neurosurgery, 1967, Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons, 1967
American Board of Neurological Surgery 1967

Research: Trauma, craniofacial and spine-adult and pediatric
Recent Publications from US National Library of Medicine and PubMed

Phone: (434) 924-2003, (800) 362-2203
Fax: (434) 243-2656

Assistant Karen Saulle at

Bio: Dr. John A. Jane, Sr. graduated from the University of Chicago with a B.A., cum laude in 1951 and received his Doctor of Medicine from the University of Chicago in 1956. He completed his neurosurgical training in 1964 at the University of Illinois Research and Educational Hospital and the Illinois Neuropsychiatric Institute. In 1965, Dr. Jane was the Senior Instructor in Neurosurgery at Case Western Reserve University. In 1967, Dr. Jane completed and was awarded a Ph.D. from the University of Chicago, Division of Biological Sciences, Section of Biopsychology. From 1969 – 2006, Dr. Jane was the Professor and Chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Virginia School of Medicine in Charlottesville, Virginia.

He is the past Director of the American Board of Neurological Surgery completing his term in 1996. Dr. Jane was elected Vice President of the Society of Neurological Surgeons in 1988, and was also elected President of the Society in 1993. Dr. Jane became a member of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Neurosurgery in 1984. He became the Chairman of the Editorial Board in 1990, the Associate Editor in 1991 and in 1992, he was elected Editor, a position he held until 2013. He is also the founder of Journal of Neurosurgery:Spine and Journal of Neurosurgery:Pediatrics.

Among his awards he received the Grass Prize and Medal of the Society of Neurological Surgeons for Meritorious Research (1985), Alumni Award for Distinguished Service, University of Chicago (1988), Decade of the Brain Medalist, CNS/AANS (1999), the Decade of the Brain Award, American Association of Neurological Surgeons (2000), the Distinguished Service Award by the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (2002), the NSA Medallist, Neurosurgical Society of America (2002), the Distinguished Service Award, Society of Neurological Surgeons (2003), the Cushing Medalist, American Association of Neurological Surgeons (2004), the WFNS Medal of Honour at the XIII World Congress of Neurosurgery Meeting (2005), the Congress of Neurological Surgeons Founder’s Laurel Award (2005), and the AANS/CNS Section on Disorders of the Spine and Peripheral Nerves Meritorious Service Recognition (2006).