Edward Oldfield MD

Edward Oldfield MD


Edward H. Oldfield, M.D.

Professor of Neurosurgery and Internal Medicine
Director, Neuro-endocrine

M.D. Degree:

University of Kentucky 1973


Neurosurgery, Vanderbilt University


Neurology, National Hospital for Nervous Disease, London, England
Senior Staff Research Fellow, Neuroimmunology, Surgical Neurology Branch, NINDS, NIH


Neurosurgery, 1983

Clinical Interests:

Pituitary tumors, Cushing's, brain tumors, drug delivery to CNS, syringomyelia, Chiari I malformation, spinal AVMs


Brain pituitary and tumors, Drug delivery to CNS, pathophysiology of syringomyelia, cerebral vasospasm
Recent Publications from US National Library of Medicine and PubMed

Clinical Team:

Heather McFadden NP, Dawn Shaver, RN


434-982-3591 or toll-free 800-650-2650


(434) 924-5894


Administrative Assistant Cindy Butterbaugh

Bio:   Edward Hudson Oldfield was born in Mt. Sterling, Kentucky. He completed three years of undergraduate education at the University of Kentucky as a Physics major before entering medical school in 1969. After graduating from medical school he completed a basic surgical residency at Vanderbilt University 1973-75 and then spent a year as a visiting registrar in neurology and neurosurgery at The National Hospital for Nervous Disease, Queen Square, London, England, before beginning neurosurgical residency at Vanderbilt University, which he finished in 1980.

After a year in private neurosurgical practice in Lexington, KY he joined the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) as a Senior Staff Fellow in neurosurgery and completed a 2-year intramural NIH fellowship in cellular immunology of tumors. In 1984 he became Chief of the Clinical Neurosurgery Section, Surgical Neurology Branch, NINDS and from 1986 until 2007 was the Chief of the Surgical Neurology Branch, NINDS, NIH. At the NIH he led successful laboratory and clinical research efforts in the areas of brain and pituitary tumors, syringomyelia, von Hippel-Lindau disease, spinal arteriovenous malformations, pathophysiology and therapy of cerebral vasospasm after subarachnoid hemorrhage, and development of new drug delivery approaches for the central nervous system.

He joined the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Virginia in 2007 where he leads a multidisciplinary effort in the treatment of pituitary tumors and contributes to the research program in the Department of Neurosurgery. He holds the Crutchfield Chair in Neurosurgery and is a Professor of Neurosurgery and Internal Medicine.

His contributions to academic and organized neurosurgery include membership on the Editorial Board of Neurosurgery 1992-94, the Editorial Board of The Journal of Neurosurgery 1994-2002, serving as Co-Chairman 2001-2002. In 2005-2006 he was Vice President of the Society of Neurological Surgeons and in 2007 he was elected President of the Society of Neurological Surgeons. He was the recipient of the Grass Medal for Meritorious Research in Neurological Science in 1995, the Farber Award of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons “for leadership, vision, and dedication, and for scholarly contributions to the field of Brain Tumor Research” in 1999, and the Distinguished Alumnus Award, University of Kentucky Medical Alumni Association “In recognition for serving as a role of the quintessential clinician-scientist and remarkable contributions to the understanding of the nervous system and the practice of neurosurgery” in 2006. He is the author of over 400 original scientific and clinical contributions to the medical literature and the co-inventor of patents on convection-enhanced drug delivery and genetic therapy. Many of his former fellows hold positions in academic medicine, including several departmental chairmen.