Program Director / Coordinator

Program Director / Coordinator

McCartney (Program Director) final Christopher R. McCartney, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Program Director, Endocrinology and Metabolism
   Fellowship Training Program

Dr. McCartney went to medical school and completed Internal Medicine residency training in his home state of Mississippi. He moved to Charlottesville in 1999 to enter the Endocrinology and Metabolism Fellowship Program, which he completed in 2002. While he had planned to return to the University of Mississippi as a clinician-educator, he decided to stay in Charlottesville to pursue clinical research. Given a passion for teaching/mentorship, he increasingly became involved with fellow education (in addition to medical student and resident teaching). Dr. McCartney has received numerous teaching awards, including Mulholland Awards for Teaching Excellence in Foundations of Medicine (presented by the class of 2013 in 2010, and by the class of 2014 in 2011); the Department of Medicine Outstanding Teaching Award (2011, 2012); and the School of Medicine Dean's Excellence in Teaching Award (2011). He was recently inducted into the Dean’s Academy of Distinguished Educators at the University of Virginia.

Dr. McCartney was appointed Associate Program Director in 2010 and Program Director in 2011. He continues to work closely with the previous Program Director, Dr. Alan Dalkin (see below).   



Amanda Fortune
Fellowship Program Coordinator

Ms. Fortune is a native Virginian and graduated from Radford University with a major in Communications (Public Relations focus). She has been at UVA for ~3 years, and she previously served as the Education Coordinator for the Division of Geriatrics & Palliative Care. She recently joined our division as Fellowship Coordinator. 

Contact information:

Box 801406, UVAHS, Charlottesville, VA 22908
Phone: 434.243.8482


Alan Dalkin photo

Alan C. Dalkin, MD
Professor of Medicine
Prior Program Director

Dr. Dalkin received his training at the University of Michigan (undergraduate, medical school, Endocrinology and Metabolism Fellowship) and University of Chicago (Internal Medicine Residency). He’s been at the University of Virginia since 1991, and has received countless teaching accolades. He served as Endocrinology Fellowship Program Director (1997–2011) and Medicine Residency Associate Program Director (2003–2010). He has also played key roles in the Association of Program Directors in Endocrinology and Metabolism (Council Member 2000–2002 and 2005–2008; Treasurer 2005–2008; President 20072009); and he is the current Chair (2011-2014) of the The Endocrine Society's Self Assessment Committee, which writes the ESAP In Training Exam (ITE) used by all programs in the U.S. Dr. Dalkin was recently appointed as a member of the ACGME's Residency Review Committee for Internal Medicine.

Dr. Dalkin continues to be a staunch supporter of (and valuable resource for) the Fellowship Training Program.