Alumni Leadership

Alumni Leadership

The University of Virginia and the Department of Emergency prepares and trains emergency physicians to be leaders in emergency medicine, both academically and clinically. 

Here are just some of the leadership positions of our alumni:


Leadership Position

Mike Burton, MD
(Resident 2001)

President, Golden Heart Emergency Physicians, Fairbanks, AK

Orion Colfer, MD
(Resident 2000)

National Vice-President,  Emergency Medicine Physicians (EMP) Medical, Group Canton, OH

Brian Doyle,  MD FACEM FACEP
(Resident 1999 )
Director of Emergency Medicine, North West Regional Hospital, Burnie, Tasmania - Australia
Chair, Tasmania Faculty of the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine
Melissa Janse, MD
(Resident 1999)  
Vice Chair of Medical Education, Carolina Emergency Medicine, PA, Greer, SC  
Bruce Lo, MD
(Medical School 2001)
Assistant Program Director, Department of Emergency Medicine, Eastern Virginia Medical School, Norfolk, VA 
James Lowry, MD  
(Resident 1998)
Presiding officer and CFO, Shelby Emergency Associates, PA, Shelby, NC
Edward Walsh, MD
(Resident 2007)
President/CEO/Medical Director, Fredericksburg Emergency Medicine Alliance (FEMA), Fredericksburg, VA
William Woods, MD
(Resident 1998)
Program Director, University of Virginia Department of Emergency Medicine Residency Program, Charlottesville, VA