Chapter 2: Chairs

SOM Home > Administration > About the School > Factbook > Chapter 2: Chairs

Chapter 2: Chairs

Departments, Research Centers & Research Facilities

Basic Science Departments

Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics
Anindya Dutta, MD, PhD
Biomedical Engineering
Frederick H. Esptein, PhD
Cell Biology
Barry M. Gumbiner, PhD
Kodi S. Ravichandran, BVSc, PhD
Molecular Physiology & Biological Physics
Mark Yeager, MD, PhD
Kevin S. Lee, PhD
Douglas A. Bayliss, PhD
Public Health Sciences
Ruth Gaare Bernheim, JD, MPH

Clinical Departments

George F. Rich, MD, PhD
Thomas E. Leinbach, DDS
Thomas G. Cropley, MD
Emergency Medicine
Robert E. O'Connor, MD
Family Medicine
M. Norman Oliver, MD
Mitchell H. Rosner, MD
Karen C. Johnston, MD, MSc
Mark E. Shaffrey, MD
Obstetrics & Gynecology
James E. Ferguson, II, MD
Peter A. Netland, MD, PhD
Orthopaedic Surgery
A. Bobby Chhabra, MD
Paul A. Levine, MD
Christopher A. Moskaluk, MD, PhD
James P. Nataro, MD, PhD, MBA
Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Robert P. Wilder, MD
Plastic Surgery
Raymond F. Morgan, MD
Psychiatry & Neurobehavioral Sciences
Anita Clayton, MD (Interim)
Radiation Oncology
James M. Larner, MD
Radiology & Medical Imaging
Alan H. Matsumoto, MD
Irving L. Kron, MD
William D.Steers, MD

Research Centers & Other Centers

Research Centers & Directors
Asthma and Allergic Diseases Center
Thomas A. E. Platts-Mills, MD, PhD
Cancer Center
Thomas Loughran, Jr., MD
Carter Immunology Center
Thomas J. Braciale, MD, PhD

Center for Biomedical Ethics & Humanities
Daniel M. Becker, MD
Center for Cell Signaling
David L. Brautigan, PhD
Center for Global Health
Richard L. Guerrant, MD

Center for Immunity, Inflammation, and Regenerative Medicine

Mark D. Okusa, MD


Center for Public Health Genomics Stephen S. Rich, PhD
Center for Research in Contraceptive & Reproductive Health
John C. Herr, PhD
Center for Research in Reproduction
John C. Marshall, MD, PhD
Center for the Study of Neurodegenerative Diseases
Center on Health Disparities M. Norman Oliver, MD
Diabetes Center
Eugene J. Barrett, MD, PhD

Human Immune Therapy Center

Craig  L.  Slingluff, MD
International Health Care Worker Safety Center
Janine C. Jagger, PhD, MPH
Medical Automation Research Center
Robin A. Felder, PhD

Morphogenesis and Regenerative Medicine Institute

Barry  M.  Gumbiner, PhD
Myles H. Thaler Center for AIDS and Human Retrovirus Research
David M. Rekosh, PhD
O'Brien Urologic Research Center William D. Steers, MD
Paul Mellon Prostate Cancer Research Institute
Robert M. Berne Cardiovascular Research Center
Gary K. Owens, PhD
Centers of Excellence & Directors
Diabetes and Hormone Center of Excellence
Alan C. Dalkin, MD
Digestive Health Center of Excellence
Steven M. Cohn, MD, PhD; Carl L. Berg, MD (Interim Co-Directors)
Other Centers, Programs & Directors
Center for the Advancement of Generalist Medicine
Susan M. Pollart, MD
Institute of Law, Psychiatry, and Public Policy
Richard Bonnie, LLB
Center for Telehealth
Karen S. Rheuban, MD

Institutional Shared Research Facilities

Institutional Shared Research Facilities & Directors
Biomolecular Research Facility
Jay W. Fox, PhD
Biorepository and Tissue Research Facility Christopher A. Moskaluk, MD,PhD
Center for Comparative Medicine
Sanford H. Feldman, DVM, PhD
Advanced Microscopy Facility
Jeffrey Corwin, PhD
Clinical Trials Office
Lori J. Elder, RN
Flow Cytometry Core Facility
Timothy P. Bender, PhD
Bioinformatics Core
Jason A. Papin, PhD
Gene Targeting & Transgenic Facility
J. Thomas Parsons, PhD
W.M. Keck Center for Cellular Imaging Ammasi Periasamy, PhD
Lymphocyte Culture Center
John C. Herr, PhD
Molecular Imaging Center
Brent A. French, PhD
Research Histology Core
Kenneth S. Tung, MD
Tissue Culture Facility
PTAI: Preclinical Tumor Analysis and Imaging Jay W. Fox, PhD