Sharon L. Hostler Women in Medicine Leadership Award

SOM Home > Administration > Faculty Development > Awards > Sharon L. Hostler Women in Medicine Leadership Award

Sharon L. Hostler Women in Medicine Leadership Award

This award was named to recognize the accomplishments and contributions of Sharon L. Hostler, MD, McLemore Birdsong Professor of Pediatrics. Dr. Hostler served as the School of Medicine Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Development from 2003-2007. She then served as Interim Vice President and Dean of the School of Medicine in 2007-08. From 2008 to the present, she has served as Vice Provost for Faculty Development (UVA) and Senior Associate Dean (School of Medicine).

Deadline: Friday, February 14, 2014

Purpose: The award recognizes the leadership qualities of a physician or basic scientist at the School of Medicine, female or male, who manifests excellence in several of the following areas: clinical care, teaching, scholarship, mentoring, research, leadership, community service, and commitment to continuous learning, and who has exerted influence in fostering a better institutional environment by advocating for women's issues.

Who is eligible? School of Medicine faculty, female or male, clinical and basic science.

Who may nominate? School of Medicine faculty, housestaff, or medical student

The nomination packet: 1 nominating letter + 8 copies + CV in hard (paper) copy 
1 nominating letter + 1 CV - by email to

Further detail on nomination packet: To nominate send a CV and a letter that describes the qualities and achievements that make your candidate an apt choice to Nina Solenski (Chair of the Committee on Women, Box 800394).

Please make 8 copies of all and submit with the original. Also, please send to me by email one copy of the nominating letter and CV.

Letters should be submitted by February 14, 2014. If you wish to nominate a prior nominee, contact the Chair of the Committee on Women, who will forward the nominee's name and previously received information to the selection committee.

Nina J. Solenski, MD
Chair, Committee on Women 
Box 800394