Academy of Distinguished Educators

SOM Home > Administration > Academy of Distinguished Educators

Academy of Distinguished Educators

Welcome to the newest members of the ADE!

2014 New ADE Members

2014 New Members   (left to right)

James H. Moak, MD

Huai Y. Cheng, MD

Amita Sudhir, MD

Kenneth W. Norwood, Jr., MD

Amy J. Mathers, MD

Daryl R. Gress, MD

Alison K. Criss, PhD

Mark J. Jameson, MD, PhD, FACS

Jamieson M. Bourque, MD

not pictured:

     Mark W. Anderson, MD 

     Leigh A. Cantrell, MD, MSPH

     Nathan P. Charlton, MD

     Myla Goldman, MD, MSc

     Pamila A. Herrington, MD

     Sara K. Rasmussen, MD, PhD

History and Mission

The Academy of Distinguished Educators was founded by the Dean of the School of Medicine in 2003 to provide an organizational structure that would recognize, reward and promote excellence in education.

The School of Medicine charge to the Academy is:

  • Recognize and reward outstanding teachers.
  • Work to make excellence in teaching a domain of academic advancement.
  • Develop effective faculty educators across the academic medical center.


All faculty of the School of Medicine at the Assistant Professor level or higher are eligible for membership.  Information on gaining membership to the Academy is available on the Membership Directory Page.

Educational Research

The Academy fulfills its mission to advance the quantity and quality of research in medical education at the UVa School of Medicine through the Educational Research Program, which sponsors both a Small Grants Program and the new annual Medical Education Research Poster Session.

Steering Committee

Co-Chairs of the ADE

 Tim Bender, PhD Christine Peterson, MD
Tim Bender, PhD
Professor of Microbiology

Christine Peterson, MD
Associate Professor of Ob/Gyn
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs

The Academy Steering Committee is responsible for developing, coordinating, and overseeing the operations of the Academy committees.

Member Subcommittees

The Steering Committee supervises three Member Subcommittees which focus on the topics of: Activities, Education Research & Resources, and Membership.